The Boy Who Played Dark Matter: The Adventures of Zeddy

In Heaven, there will be no law, and the lion will lie down with the lamb…. The worse the society, the more law there will be. In Hell, there will be nothing but law, and due process will be meticulously observed.” -Grant Gilmore

If this is true, as well as the future envisioned in this book, then the future must be hell. I would say I am grateful enough not to be able to live in 2099, where I couldn’t have my everyday dose of caffeine.

tbpwdmSci-fi fanatics will love this book, that’s for sure. I had a bit of trouble understanding the words (scientific jargons has left me after fifth grade), and wondering how come I thought John Green’s An Abundance of Katherines was the most nose-bleeding book that’s ever existed. But don’t get me wrong. Maybe I wasn’t really designed to enjoy science fiction at all, owing it to the fact that I don’t have a Y chromosome.

The Holy Ghost Writer has a very cool imagination. Though I’ve heard of a parallel universe before, reading this gave me quite a bit of understanding how it works (it’s quite a marvel really, to be a be to comprehend amidst the science jargons). While J.K.Rowling fascinated me with Diagon Alley, Hagrid and the existence of unicorns in the wizarding world, he did the same with Zamira, a dark matter planet which was discovered by Zeddy’s dad, Nimeuh, an ancient sorceress and Zmally, a curious little creature from Zamira called a zutterfly, a dark matter. The only difference could be that, well Diagon Alley, however cool it may sound, is entirely fictitious. Zamira, on the other hand, could somehow stand a chance. With how vast the universe is, who knows?

The second part of the book is much more appealing, for there were other kids introduced as Zeddy’s friends. At least he was normal, just like other kids, apart from his unbelievable brain capacity that is way beyond that of a six-year-old. I also liked the fact that he was able to use his geeky personality to handle this bully kid, Dennis Jr. Reading between the lines, what I learned is that kids that are under pressure and lonely tend to be bullies. Dennis Jr. didn’t have friends, or at least none was mentioned, and he was the school principal’s son.

If this were the kind of books our children nowadays read, there’s no wonder that we will have a very dynamic, ambitious future. It will no doubt be a fun read for kids (or basically anyone) who loves science tickle their brains. And if there is one that I’ve learned in this book, it’snever underestimate the ability of a kid.

Rating: 4 of 5 stars. i really liked it.

Leave a Reply

