Deep Blue by David Niall Wilson

When I read the first few pages of this book, I couldn’t decide if it was really horror. Maybe it’s because R.L. Stine works have always been my basis for horror reads. Anyway, I should say that Deep Blue offers more than what a typical horror book could offer.

image

What is it about?

It’s about a musical band wherein each member has their own kind of flaw. Brandt the drunkard and could barely pay his bills and Syn, who’s been seeing “angels” since she was a kid. Shaver, Dexter and Liz have hurtful pasts, and all of them are seeing visions while playing blues music. Visions that were all about other people’s pain and they have to feel these pains in order to have them slip away. They had to find out why that happens, and what they need to do about it.

What I Think About It

The book strongly reminded me of Douglas Coupland’s Girlfriend in a Coma, only because of the fact that both books are talking about visions. Deep Blue, I think, is more on spiritual and new gen book (that’s just me, though). The book is so lyrical and vividly written that my mind was able to play the scenes as if I was seeing a movie. To be honest, this kind of book is not my cup of tea, but the change is so welcoming and it certainly got me hooked. I liked the fact that everything and everyone was described in every chapter, and it kept me guessing for the relevance until the revelation.

Deep Blue is more than a horror book – it is a book that talks about how to feel other people’s pain and redemption. I daresay it is not for quick read, but something that would certainly keep you up at night.

2 thoughts on “Deep Blue by David Niall Wilson

  1. Hi there! I just wanted to say that I really enjoyed this blog post of yours… Not just this one but all of them! They are all honestly really great and amazing.
    I should mention that because of how much I loved this post of yours I had to check out your blog and I couldn’t help but follow you because your blog is literally amazing and I truly am so happy that I have come across it because I really love it and I truly can’t wait to read more from you! So keep it up (:
    P.s. This comment is towards all of your blog posts because they are all equally amazing and incredible, keep up the great work (:

    Like

Leave a Reply

