I Heart Geeks by Various Authors

Whenever I go to the bookstore for some new reads, I can’t help but notice the prominent selection of contemporary romance books, both adult and new adult that featured alpha males. Well, who’d want a limp guy for a love interest, at least in a novel anyway? I Heart Geeks is totally different. I would totally agree if one would say that this is a celebration of all the guys out there whose geekiness is worth falling for.

REVIEW:

What Is It About?

image

Edited and compiled by Susan Renee Page, I Heart Geeks is a compilation of romance short story that features cosplaying. There are seven stories in the book, all of which are written by different authors. Although there are different meet and greets and twists to the love stories, it brought me to another dimension which I have thought of a little before – the world of cosplaying and gaming characters.

What I Think About It?

Cosplaying is something I never considered doing, simply because I was not interested in online gaming, and I had the littlest patience with anime programs and characters. But of course, this didn’t waver my fascination in reading I Heart Geeks because like I said, it brought me to another dimension. I couldn’t relate with all the fuss about how the ’70s Catwoman is different from the contemporary Batgirl, or who is Joss Whedon. However, the fluttering sensation in the stomach brought about by having an eye-to-eye contact with someone I really like or maybe the unlikely come back of that guy who ditched me years before were just some of the things I could totally relate about. Although all the stories in the anthology gave me toe-curling scenes in a wholesome kind of way,  my favorite of all is Goldstar. The story featured a girl who is unknowingly about to have a face-to-face with her “the one who got away”.

RATING: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

RECOMMENDATION:

If you are into romance, I Heart Geeks is something worthy of your collection. It’s a different taste of romance for it’s wholesomeness and geekiness. Oh and yeah, I appreciate geek guys. In real life, that is. Get in from Amazon for $5.39.

(This review also appeared on Amazon.)

Leave a Reply

