Goodbye Bombay by Gry Fisner

So let me take myself back into reading romance. Goodbye Bombay, though it was a romance book for me, it covered a lot of different things about a married woman’s life.

image

REVIEW:

What is it about?

The story opens with Christine telling her friend Phoebe about her wanders in Bombay, India twenty years ago. As fascinating as it was, it appeared that her life wasn’t that easy. She was constantly neglected by her husband, and add the fact that she was in the foreign land, she couldn’t help but wonder where she belongs. Until she met Sam, a gorgeous looking Indian, and despite being married, she fell in love with him.

What I Think About It? 

The way this book was written reminded me of Me Before You and Love, Rosie. I am not sure why, but maybe because all the books have touches of Brit culture. Anyway, I loved how Christine talked about her life in India. It made me feel like I was the one listening to her stories – it felt like it was spontaneously written which not many books feature. This kind of approach is kind of new for me and I think it was truly superb.

I can’t imagine myself being in Christine’s shoes, especially when she was in India. I mean, I think it would be cool if it would just be me, but imagine towing her daughter and her entire life in a foreign soil without knowing where to begin really. I felt the sense of belongingness she badly wanted to find, as she tried to fit in the Indian crowd (it also made me keep n mind to check the country’s culture when it comes to dress code before people whisper about me). But then I still couldn’t decide if allowing herself to fall in love with some was ever a good idea, despite the fact that she was often neglected by her husband and as obviously galvanizing behind her back.

Another thing that made the book interesting for me is India itself. Most books I’ve read are set either in the U.S. or in some parts of Europe. This book, however, showcased India effectively, in my opinion. The description of the country was so vivid that I could imagine what it says.

Recommendation:

Story wise, this could be something in a very slight semblance of Paulo Coelho’s Adultery. Goodbye Bombay is something that you may want to add to your bedtime reads.

Leave a Reply

